Permission Changes While Moving or Copying an NTFS File
When you copy or move NTFS files, the permissions that have been set for those files might change. The following points should be remebered while moving or copying a file.
• If you move a file from one folder to another folder on the same NTFS volume, the file will retain the original NTFS permissions.
• If you move a file from one folder to another folder between different NTFS volumes, the file is treated as a copy and will have the same permissions as the destination folder.
• If you copy a file from one folder to another folder (on the same volume or on a different volume), the file will have the same permissions as the destination folder.
• FAT partitions cannot hold permission details and if you copy or move a folder or file to a FAT partition, it will not retain any NTFS permissions.